Assaulting Workers Enforcing Mask Mandates Is Now A Felony In Illinois


Commuter Ridership Increases As Illinois Economy Reopens

Commuter Ridership Increases As Illinois Economy Reopens

A new law in Illinois will severely punish anyone who assaults a worker trying to enforce the state's mask mandate, along with any other social distancing policies. Governor J.B. Pritzker signed a new law that allows officials to charge attackers with aggravated battery, a Class 3 or 4 felony.

Under Illinois law, a Class 3 felony carries a prison sentence of between five to ten years behind bars, while the punishment for Class 4 felony is three to six years in jail.

"Illinois has made substantial progress in our fight against COVID-19 because the vast majority of communities and business owners have done the right thing," Pritzker said in a statement. "These rules will help ensure that the minority of people who refuse to act responsibly won't take our state backward."

The new law also gives local officials more flexibility to handle businesses that refuse to enforce social distancing protocols and the state-wide mask mandate, which has been in place since May. Businesses will be given numerous chances to comply with the orders. If they refuse, they will face fines ranging from $75-$2,000.

Photo: Getty Images

Throwback 96.3 · Throwback963

Listen Now on iHeartRadio